Midland One Region

One Region

Te Manawa Taki

Te Manawa Taki is home to some 920,000 people who will encounter our health system from different locations, at differing times and for various reasons during their lifetime.

Our diverse population consists of a much higher proportion of Māori than any other region in New Zealand as well as having a high number of people living in rural areas and a higher proportion living in areas identified as high deprivation.

Accessing their patient information through the Midland Clinical Portal – a regional system, is critical to improving their health outcomes. For clinicians, timely access to relevant patient information supports effective diagnostic and treatment decisions, and reduces clinical risk. For patients, they will encounter a health system that is borderless and most importantly, patient-centred.

With the MCP, we are enabling the delivery of quality, comparable healthcare across the region while realising the region’s vision of one patient, one record.


The Midland Clinical Portal (MCP) project sits within HealthShare – a shared services agency jointly owned by the Te Manawa Taki DHBs – Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Lakes, Hauora Tairāwhiti and Taranaki.

Our role is to provide services and regional solutions that support the region’s focus on sustainable health service delivery. The MCP is our collective solution to drive efficiencies across our region, but most importantly, support effective clinical change through the provision of innovative and responsive technologies.




For the MCP to be fully realised, we are working collaboratively with each Te Manawa Taki DHB to determine a fit for purpose solution that is agile and remains responsive to the growing needs of clinicians.

This collaborative approach also balances centralisation – with the DHBs focus on standardising processes and improving clinical outcomes with our drive to revolutionise the way in which healthcare is delivered in Te Manawa Taki.


Bay of Plenty District Health Board 

Covering 9,666 square kilometres, Bay of Plenty District Health Board serves a population of 214,910 and stretches from Waihi Beach in the North West to Whangaparaoa on the East Cape and inland to the Urewera, Kaimai and Mamaku ranges. These boundaries take in the major population centres of Tauranga, Katikati, Te Puke, Whakatāne, Kawerau and Ōpōtiki. Eighteen Iwi are located within the Bay of Plenty DHB area.

Read more about Bay of Plenty District Health Board



Lakes District Health Board 

Lakes District Health Board serves a population of just over 100,000 and covers 9,570 square kilometres. It stretches from Mourea in the north to Mangakino in the west down to Turangi in the south and across to Kaingaroa village in the east. The major centres of population are Rotorua and Taupō and the main smaller communities are Mangakino and Turangi. The DHB boundaries take in the two main iwi groups of Te Arawa and Ngati Tuwharetoa.

Read more about Lakes District Health Board



Hauora Tairāwhiti

Hauora Tairāwhiti covers the same area as the Gisborne District Local and Territorial authorities. Covering an area of 8,351 square kilometres it makes up 3 per cent of New Zealand’s land area. The total Tairāwhiti population, as per the 2006 census, was 44,499.

Read more about Hauora Tairāwhiti



Taranaki District Health Board 

Taranaki District Health Board serves a population of 110,258 (extrapolated from the 2006 Census) and covers a geographic area of 723,610 hectares. It stretches from Mokau River in the north to Waitōtara River in the south and takes in the major population centres of New Plymouth and Hawera.

Read more about Taranaki District Health Board



Waikato District Health Board

Waikato DHB serves a population of more than 390,000 and covers more than 21,000 square kilometres. It stretches from northern Coromandel to close to Mt Ruapehu in the south, and from Raglan on the west coast to Waihi on the east. The principal iwi (Māori tribal groups) in the Waikato DHB district are Hauraki, Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Raukawa, and Waikato. Ngāti Tūwharetoa and Whanganui iwi groups also reside within the district, and a significant number of Māori living in the Waikato affiliate to iwi outside the district. 

Read more about Waikato District Health Board