Our Region

The Midland region is made up of five District Health Boards – Bay of Plenty, Lakes, Tairāwhiti, Taranaki and Waikato – and services the major population centres of Tauranga, Rotorua, Gisborne, New Plymouth and Hamilton.  Distinguishing features of the Midland region, compared to New Zealand as a whole are:

  • a much higher proportion of Māori
  • a lower proportion of the population identifying as Asian or Pasifika
  • a higher number of people living in rural areas
  • a higher proportion of people living in areas identified as high deprivation.



*Source: Midland Regional Services Plan Summary 2015-2018